TABPI logo


Scholarships winners hail from U.K., South Africa

CLEVELAND — The TABPI Young Leaders Scholarship was created to increase interest in the b2b publishing world with younger editors who are advancing in their editorial careers. The scholarship is sponsored by TABPI and the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASBPE). The scholarship allows younger editors — who might otherwise be unable — to attend an educational b2b editorial event. This year’s scholarship is to attend the ASBPE Editorial Conference, scheduled for August 4-5, 2011 in Chicago, Ill., USA. The conference contains an evening networking event on August 3, followed by two full days of intensive editorial sessions on topics that will include::

• Useful seminars, panel discussions, and workshops targeted at editors of business, trade, and association print and Web publications
• The chance to network with fellow business editors in an interactive setting designed for editors
• Top-notch, cutting-edge speakers

This years winners are:

Matthew Wright photo TABPI YLSMatthew Wright is the editor of Clinical Pharmacist, a trade magazine that supports the education
and development of UK pharmacists working in clinical roles. He first trained as a pharmacist in
Brisbane, Australia, before relocating to the UK to pursue new career opportunities. Matthew
became a journalist for The Pharmaceutical Journal in January 2006, combining his knowledge of
medicines with a love of writing. Matthew took on his current editorship in September 2008 and led
the redesign of the publication to its successful relaunch in January 2009. Matthew lives in London
and when not working he likes to escape to the countryside to walk.

Kavith Harrilall photo TABPI YLSKavith Harrilall is Current Business Editor of The Witness Newspaper, Weekend Witness Newspaper (February 2006 – present), where he is responsible for researching and writing business, economic and general news stories; constructing graphs that accompany stories & basic press photography; preparing pages for daily newspaper editions by determining the content, including editing stories. He was formerly a journalist at East Coast Radio Newswatch.


Past Young Leaders Scholarship winners

The 2009 TABPI YLS awards were granted to the following editors:

Peter Davies photo TABPI YLSPeter Davies is editor of Architectural Product News and acting editor of Houses for Melbourne-based magazine publisher Architecture Media. Peter has a passion for design publishing and judicious punctuation. Following experience in educational book publishing, Peter joined Architecture Media. He has qualifications in journalism, arts management, and publishing and editing, and is currently completing studies in communications law.

Matty Soccio photo TABPI YLSMatty Soccio is deputy editor of Marketing magazine, but also contributes and help to edit, with blog postings, news updates and the e-newsletter. After gaining an honors degree in English literature at Latrobe University in Melbourne, Australia, Matty began work as a sub-editor and staff journalist for a number of Australian recreational vehicle and travel magazine titles. He then received a certificate in Editing and Sub-editing at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and continued to freelance for a variety of local and national publications. Matty writes a regular column in Desktop magazine, and features for Welcome to and CRYSTAL magazines. He's active on Facebook and Twitter, and also maintains a sports writing and journalism blog: Take the Ride, Bubba.

The 2008 TABPI YLS awards were granted to the following editors:

Andy Hoskins photo TABPI YLSAndy Hoskins is deputy editor for bmi Publications' The Business Travel Magazine, a publication that was voted best in its field in December 2007 at the annual Business Travel Journalism Awards. He has been with bmi since 2004. Hoskins received an Upper Second Class Bachelor of Arts Degree in Geography from the University of Southampton in Hampshire. In his spare time, Andy is a keen sportsman and traveller. He plays regularly for a local football (soccer) team, enjoys cycling and plans to run his first marathon in Edinburgh, Scotland, in May 2008.Hoskins Rau Heney TABPI Young Leaders Scholarship photo

Kate Rau photo TABPI YLSKate Rau is editor for SALESGURU magazine, South Africa's only publication focused purely on the subject of selling. Kate is tasked with growing the quality of the magazine, as well as increasing national exposure of the brand. She is assisting in the website revamping process, as well. She formerly worked for Push Media and Media 3S / Shorten Publications. She has a BA in Journalism, specialising in French, English and Audio Visual communication from Rand Academic University (Now University of Johannesburg). Her interests include gardening, yoga, reading, and walking her boxer.

Rau and Hoskins, shown with TABPI President Paul J. Heney (center), attended the ASBPE Editorial Conference on July 23-25, 2008 in Kansas City, Missouri, USA.


The 2007 TABPI YLS awards were granted to the following editors:

Vanessa Chris photo TABPI YLSVanessa Chris is an associate editor/journalist for Canadian Mortgage Professional magazine, Canada's leading independent publication for mortgage brokers. After graduating from the University of Western Ontario with her MA in Journalism in 2003, Vanessa started her journalism career as a columnist for Canada's leading newspaper, the Toronto Star, before finding her way into the manufacturing side of b2b publishing. She loves the turn her career has taken and looks forward to exploring all facets b2b journalism has to offer.

Vincent ter Beek photo TABPI YLSVincent ter Beek is editor for Pig Progress, an international trade journal (and website) on pig production worldwide. The magazine is a Reed Business publication, produced in Doetinchem, the Netherlands. Vincent joined Reed Business in 2005; prior to that he worked as a journalist at a local daily, De Twentsche Courant Tubantia, for two years and also spent one year as a History teacher at a college. Vincent graduated from Groningen University, the Netherlands, and has an MA in History and Journalism. He also studied for several months in the cities of Brighton and Harlow in the UK.

Chris and ter Beek attended the ASBPE Editorial Conference on August 2-3, 2007 in New York, New York, USA.

The 2006 TABPI YLS awards were granted to the following editors:

Fletcher Thomson Heney photo TABPI YLS winnersAnthony Fletcher is the editor of, named news website of the year in the UK's food journalism awards 2005. is the world's most-read news service among food formulators and ingredients buyers, with an audited readership of more than 85,000. He has lived and worked in the UK, France and Japan.

Natalia Thomson works at Africa's largest travel trade publisher, Now Media, as the managing editor of an inbound travel and tourism trade publication, Southern African Tourism Update. She is also heavily involved in online media initiatives for this sector and passionate about promoting the region as a tourist destination. Natalia has lived and worked in Portugal, The Netherlands and the United Kingdom and is currently completing a MSC in publishing studies through the Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen, United Kingdom.

Fletcher and Thomson, shown with TABPI President Paul J. Heney (center), attended the ASBPE Editorial Conference on July 19-21, 2006 in Chicago, Illinois, USA.



About UsFAQs Publishers Links Salary SurveysContact Us

Tabbie Awards Twitter Tabbie Awards Instagram




Copyright 2018, Trade, Association and Business Publications International